Public Document Pack



Council Meeting

Wednesday, 9th February, 2022



HASTINGS BOROUGH COUNCIL

Dear Councillor

You are hereby summoned to attend a meeting of the Hastings Borough Council to be held remotely on Microsoft Teams on Wednesday, 9th February, 2022 at 6.00 pm at which meeting the business specified below is proposed to be transacted.

Yours sincerely,

Chief Legal Officer

Muriel Matters House Breeds Place Hastings

2 February 2022

AGENDA

5. Membership of Committees

The Leader of the Council to propose:

- Following the formation of the Green Party Group and the change in political balance the Council agrees the reallocation of seats on the Overview and Scrutiny, Licensing and Museum Committees as shown in Schedule A
- 2. Councillors be appointed to those committees, and to the vacant seat on the Standards Committee, in accordance with the nominations of the political groups as shown in Schedule A

Note: Nothing contained in this agenda or in the attached reports and minutes of committees constitutes an offer or acceptance of an offer or an undertaking or contract by the Borough Council

					FEBRUARY 2022 POLITICAL BAL	2 ANCE RULES APPLY TO	COMMITTEES	
					NOMINATIONS		GREEN GROUP	NOTES
COMMITTEE	SEATS	ALLOCATION TO POLITICAL GROUPS			LABOUR GROUP	CONSERVATIVE GROUP		
Standards Committee	5 (+ 2 indepen dents)	3	CON 2	GRN	1. Maya Evans (Chair) 2. Alan Roberts (Vice-Chair) 3. Nigel Sinden	Mike Edwards Peter Pragnell		No more than 1 Cabinet member who is not to be the Leader.
Overview and Scrutiny Committee	11	6	4	1	1. Andrew Battley (Chair) 2. Ali Roark 3. Sabina Arthur 4. Nigel Sinden 5. Heather Bishop 6. Mike Turner	1. Andy Patmore (Vice Chair) 2. Mike Edwards 3. Peter Pragnell 4. Lucian Fernando	1. Claire Carr	No Cabinet Member may sit on O & S Committees. Mayor and Deputy Mayor not eligible for membership. Political Balance applies to Chairs and Vice-Chairs of O&S Committee
Licensing Committee	15	8	5	2	1. Nigel Sinden (Chair) 2. Trevor Webb (Vice Chair) 3. James Bacon 4. Andrew Battley 5. Ruby Cox 6. Ali Roark 7. Alan Roberts 8. Mike Turner	1. Karl Beaney 2. Mike Edwards 3. Andy Patmore 4. Graeme Williams 5. John Rankin	1. Claire Carr 2. Julia Hilton	No Cabinet member with Portfolio. No more than 5 members of Planning Committee. Chair and Vice-Chair not to be elected from members of the Planning Committee.
Museum Committee	10	5	3	2	 Paul Barnett (Chair) Nigel Sinden (Vice-Chair) Sabina Arthur 	Andy Patmore John Rankin Graeme Williams	Claire Carr Julia Hilton	

4. Maya Evans5. Ali Roark

This page is intentionally left blank